And Here I Go

Today is my mom’s birthday. She was the best person I’ve ever known. If she knew you, she loved you. She did so without reservation or any regard to what she got in return. Indeed, her love was often given in spite of what she received.

Today I’m starting a variation on her life’s mission. To truly love people, I need to know them. And what would be the point of getting to know only more people like me?

I want to focus on different people. I want to hear their stories and thoughts and feelings. I want the world to know me better by sharing mine. Maybe we can build a better world or even just a better community. If I can even just build a better me, I will have been successful.

One thing this will not be is a display of white male guilt. I am racist, sexist, many other types of ist. My mission is to listen, learn, and share. Plugging my ears with shame and blinding my eyes with guilt will not help. Besides, I’m not trying to convince myself I’m a better person. I actually want to become one.

And here I go, seeking knowledge.

4 thoughts on “And Here I Go

  1. Hi!
    I am back! You wrote on my site that you are a new blogger. I’d love to encourage you to subscribe to my blog. I help new bloggers at my site, That’s what I do.
    I brought you the link to my About page, so you can read more about my site and the three free incentives I offer:
    http://wp.me/P6x6vQ-89
    It was a pleasure getting to know the various sides of Drew today.
    Janice

    Like

    1. Hi, Janice.
      Thank you so much. As you can see, I am rather new to this whole blogging thing. I really appreciate your advice and support. I am very much still figuring out the technical side and matters of etiquette especially in terms of how to support and share. I will definitely look through your blog soon.

      Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

Speak to me

