99 Word Flash: Just One

Some day soon I hope to get back to regular blogging. I have several ideas struggling to get organized in my head while I also try to get other life matters in order. In the meantime, I’ve been tapping out some flash fiction here and there and sometimes even publish it. Here is the latest, from the Carrot Ranch Communications prompt “Just One”.

 

Just One Answer

He stared at the name on his wrist as the question echoed around in his head. Most of the time he refused any answer and certainly never gave the one people really wanted. For many like him, it was the lives he couldn’t save that brought the nightmares. He took so much pride in bringing everyone home from his first combat tour. That luck was absent from the second. Still looking down, he spoke the question back to his inquisitor, “How many people did I kill in combat?”

Looking up from his memorial bracelet, he quietly answered, “Just one.”

2 thoughts on “99 Word Flash: Just One

  1. Wow. Powerful. Having worked with combat veterans as a volunteer (and being married to one), I know the impact of that question on the soul of a soldier. The last line breaks my heart. I know what it means. Drew, you could really write some powerful works in fiction. I believe in literature as a why to get people to understand different perspectives and experiences that non-fiction can’t always impart. I hope you keep exploring fiction! Thank you for sharing this at Carrot Ranch!

    Liked by 1 person

Speak to me

