N Is for Nothing

“Hey mama, when you leave,
don’t leave a thing behind.
I don’t want nothin’.
I can’t use nothin’.”
-Townes Van Zandt, “Nothin'”

Looking around my house, I see too much stuff. Part of me wishes I had next to nothing. I lived such a nomadic life while I was in the Army. A part of me misses that. I recently spent some time traveling and would love the freedom to be able to do that more often. I’d love to be able to move quickly and easily if the whim struck me, tethered by next to nothing.

I’ve been stressing about many different things lately. How much easier would it be if I had nothing, no responsibilities, no worries? I find myself missing childhood when I had nothing.

I’ve had a lot going on. I’m tired and feeling beat down. I really want to take a vacation where I can do and feel nothing.

I struggle with writing often. I sometimes say I have nothing to write about. That’s not really the case, though. My real problem is I have far too much to write about. I only wish I had nothing.

One thought on “N Is for Nothing

  1. Drew, I spent this weekend trying to achieve a goal of purging 50% of everything from our house. I succeeded in weeding through the clothing, but beyond that haven’t had much luck. Doesn’t matter how much luck I had. Point is, I get what you’re saying. It’s hard to write anything when you don’t have the space in your mind to move around and start letting it out. I’ve used meditation for this in the past. Now I keep lists of topics I want to write in the Notes on my phone. Whatever your path, I hope you find it and it brings you peace, my friend. It’s hard to be bombarded by your own stories. xoxo

    Like

Speak to me

