Happy Memory: The #LinkYourLife Challenge Day 5

I have to admit I struggled with the latest #LinkYourLife Challenge prompt: Explore a happy memory. I have plenty of happy memories, but I’ve always been more inspired by pain. This might be something I should explore in therapy.

The one happy memory that kept coming back to me is one steeped in pain. It was my mother’s funeral and visitation. Even five years later, there is still a great deal of pain, but I saw happy things those two days that make it a little easier.

When I first saw her in her casket, I was completely alone. It had been almost a week since I’d been notified, but this was an incredibly painful moment. I was very much looking forward to having some friends and family show up to distract me for the next couple of hours.

Days later a friend apologized for not being able to make. I told her it was better that way. I was barely able to talk to anyone who had come to see me. The turnout was far larger than I had expected, and my mom’s friends had completely overwhelmed me. My time was almost entirely occupied talking to these people who had come to pay their respects, most of whom I had never met. I always knew she was a nice lady, and seeing how she had touched so many lives was incredibly touching to me.

There’s probably a lot more I could and should write about this, and I’ll put it on my list for the future. I have written a little bit about her in the past here and here. Right now I have a crazy little kitty who wants my attention. I guess she expects me to help her create some happy memories of her own.

Speak to me

