New Name and Profession: The #LinkYourLife Challenge Day 6

Going a little out of order once again and tweaking things a little. The prompt is to give myself a new name and profession. That would require a whole lot of imagination that I’m not able to muster at the moment. I also need to stall ever so slightly while I handle some other business these next couple of days. So I’m going to talk a little bit about some childhood career aspirations.

Well, this first one I wouldn’t even really call an aspiration. I had this strange feeling that I would end up in show business. I’m not sure why. I had no real desire to do that, but something convinced me that it was inevitable. I guess you could blame it on Kermit the Frog.

The person I really wanted to be back then was Dr. Johnny Fever. As I grew up, I gave up any desire to work in radio. The jobs are way too unstable, and programming is too tightly controlled. But this guy was too cool for all that. Just check out the video from when he got to change WKRP’s format from elevator music to rock and roll.

Unfortunately, that clip ends before the end of the scene. Johnny was a highly successful DJ in L.A. before his career went in the toilet after he was fired for saying what was somehow an offensive word.

Now that I think about it, I still don’t want to work in radio, but I do want to grow up to be Dr. Johnny Fever.

 

Speak to me

