Carl: A Big Brown Dog Flash Fiction Story

Written for the Carrot Ranch Communications prompt, “Big Brown Dog”.

Carl

People often ask what breed Carl is, and I always give the same answer, “big brown dog”. I got him from a shelter when he was just a tiny puppy. I think they rescued him from a hoarder. I named him after a friend I had just lost. It tuned out to be a great idea as their personalities were so similar, sweet and playful but with no patience for fools. They both got me through some hard times. Now we’re both getting to the end of our time the way we all should, old and tired and content.

3 thoughts on “Carl: A Big Brown Dog Flash Fiction Story

Speak to me

