A Rock in the Road

Some flash fiction written for the Carrot Ranch Communications prompt “a rock in the road”.

“A Rock in the Road”

During a stop one day, a kid asked me for my pen. It was nice, and I didn’t want to give it up. So I asked him what he had for me, knowing he’d have nothing. He ran around the corner and came back with a rock that he obviously just picked up from the road. “Magic,” he said. “Bring you luck.” You could tell that pen was like gold to him. Giving it to him brought me a rare smile during that hellish year. I lost a few bucks, but I got the better end of the deal.

2 thoughts on “A Rock in the Road

  1. That’s powerful, Drew. The casualness of the storyteller underscores the significance of the exchange. I also like how you leave it to the reader to fill in the details of where and when. I pictured a soldier in Iraq.

    Liked by 1 person

Speak to me

