She Gave Me a Rainbow

Written for the Carrot Ranch Communications prompt “a rainbow in a puddle”.

She Gave Me a Rainbow

I always hated the time after a rainstorm. I was just trying to dry off in peace while the schoolkids would run around the park I called home. They’d splash in the puddles and make all the noise they couldn’t make while cooped up inside. One time a little girl couldn’t catch her friends’ attention so she turned to me. “Look!” she yelled at me, pointing at a puddle. Something in the water was making rainbow colors, something she apparently had never seen before. I couldn’t help but smile and realized I couldn’t remember the last time I had.

2 thoughts on “She Gave Me a Rainbow

Speak to me

