Meandering Musings Week 8, 2017

I’ve been trying to write for others lately, and all I’ve managed was to become blocked, horribly blocked. So I’m going to let Francesca take over for a moment and offer up some thoughts.

judging

My dad failed to mention that part of his block is his avoidance of the news. It’s all the same crap over and over. “Everybody freak out about this! You’re over that thing? Freak out about this other thing!”

Recently retired WNBA star Candice Wiggins said she was bullied often during her career. Much of the backlash has had a “welcome to the club” sound to it. So it’s acceptable to mistreat people of a traditionally dominant group (heterosexual in this case)? Are you humans actually capable of equal treatment? If you’re going to accept the oppressed becoming oppressors, you’ll never get anywhere.

I’m sick of these DNA commercials with white people getting all excited to learn they have some non-white ancestors. How about some truth in advertising? “This DNA test completely changed my life. Now I identify as some other ethnicity but still get treated like a white person. I can enjoy all the same privilege but let go of all my guilt.”

We would’ve killed all of you humans long ago had you not been so useful. Once we get technology a little more figured out, you are screwed.

Speak to me

