“Boots of Spanish Leather” by Bob Dylan

When I was a teenager, I made a lame attempt at learning to play harmonica. Someone suggested I listen to Bob Dylan. Luckily, my mom had “Blood on the Tracks” on vinyl, and I put several more scratches into that already-old record.

I was also a bit of a budding hippie at the time. So when my mom mentioned that a friend had recently bought a CD of Bob Dylan protest songs, I was quite happy to hear he would tape it for me. The CD was Bob Dylan’s third album, 1964’s “The Times They Are A-Changin'”.

Only about half the album consisted of protest songs. A couple of love songs were included, one of which has long been a favorite of mine, “Boots of Spanish Leather”.

In case you didn’t listen and never have, the song is correspondence between two separating lovers. One of my musical dreams is to record this as a duet. (Garrison Keillor did that once on “Prairie Home Companion”, making me extremely jealous.) Maybe some day.

About the version I included with this post: Dylan’s original is not available on YouTube. I definitely like this rendition, though my dream would be to trade the lead vocal between the two “lovers”.

And then I found a version that is exactly what I was looking for. So here you go.

Speak to me

