“Je N’en Connais Pas La Fin” by Edith Piaf

I couldn’t allow myself to get through this whole challenge without including an Edith Piaf song. This one is not my favorite. (That would be “Non, Je Ne Regrette Rien”.) This one does, however, have a strong case for being #2. (It would be a big fight.)

I wish I could tell you what this (or any other Edith Piaf song) means to me. I don’t speak a bit of French, though. I have no idea what she’s singing about. I mean I figure she’s saying something about love and/or a lover with words like “mon amour”, but in general, I am clueless. She could be singing about eating people’s faces off, and I would be none the wiser.

I should probably know the meaning of the song considering Jeff Buckley did a cover mostly in English. Then again, the translation might be way off, and like I said, I just don’t care what it’s about because of that voice. There is something about Edith Piaf’s voice that just kills me. She could sing the phone book, and I would love every second of it. (Jeff Buckley had quite an amazing voice himself. Just listen for yourself.)

And now as a bonus, here’s my favorite Edith Piaf song.

Speak to me

