“My Darlin'” by Jay Bennett

The most intense fans might recognize this as a Wilco song. Indeed, the first version on record appeared on “Summerteeth”. A few years later Jay Bennett did his own version on his first post-Wilco album, “The Palace at 4 AM” (with Edward Burch).

The song is a sweet simple lullaby. Anyone with young children would do well to learn it. The fadeout features a recording from Bennett’s father, giving him an update on the family and reminding him to call his mother. While I enjoy the Wilco version, this one is far superior in my book.

Jay Bennett released a few more albums all by himself and was reportedly planning a sequel with Edward Burch. Unfortunately, he died of an accidental overdose of pain medication when a time-release skin patch failed. He was 45.

I bought every Wilco album when Jay Bennett was in the group. I bought just one after his departure. It wasn’t the same without him.

P.S. (edit)

After I hit publish, I noticed the date. Paul McCartney released his first solo album on April 17, 1970. The date is sometimes cited as the day the Beatles broke up. “The Palace at 4 AM” had quite a bit of Beatles flavor. So as a bonus, here’s “Maybe I’m Amazed” from “McCartney”.

Speak to me

