“Rama Lama Ding Dong” by the Edsels

Who put the Ram in the Rama-Lama-Ding-Dong? Barry Mann asked that question in “Who Put the Bomp?”, and I’ve repeated it many times throughout the years. A girl once answered it correctly. I quickly proposed to her, but somehow we never got married.

I love me some fine doo-wop, and this is some of the finest of the fine. The Edsels had little success outside of this song, but that was rather common with this era and genre. Not everyone can be the Flamingos.

One of my weirdest dreams is to sing bass in a doo-wop group. So if anyone out there is considering doing a cover of this or any other doo-wop classic, I’m available for auditions.

Note: I skipped Q. I accidentally repeated M, so there’s no loss of volume. I just might skip X and/or Z, but I’ll make up for that with a similar repeat.

Speak to me

