“She’s a Mystery to Me” by Roy Orbison

My favorite U2 song is one I don’t think they ever recorded. (I’m not a U2 fan. Deal with it.) It was written for Roy Orbison by Paul Hewson and David Evans (a.k.a. Bono and the Edge).

This song inspired the title to Roy Orbison’s last album. It was his next-to-last hit (followed by “You Got It”). It’s a beautiful song showcasing that amazing voice my mother always loved (and so do I). She had a vinyl 45 of the song with a really nice cover of his classic “Crying” done as a duet with k.d. lang.

I do have one ulterior motive for picking this song, going back to the songwriters. It gives me an excuse to retell a joke I heard about a quarter century ago:

When Stevie Ray Vaughan died, St. Peter asked him what part of heaven he’d like to see first. Stevie Ray said he’d like to check out the Dead Rock Star Hotel. Walking around, he was tickled to see his hero Jimi Hendrix alongside other luminaries like Janis Joplin, John Lennon, etc. Passing one room, he noticed Bono watching himself on TV. Confused, he asked St. Petersburg, “What’s he doing here? Bond’s not dead.”

St. Peter rolled his eyes and said, “Oh, that’s God. He just thinks he’s Bono.”

Note: I did a second S entry. That’s because I’m skipping X. My only option was “X-ray Mind” by Mad Season. I could write a little bit about the crazy coincidence of how I tried to remember the Mad Season song that got a bunch of radio play in the mid-’90s (“I Don’t Know Anything”) hours before the news broke that Layne Staley died. Instead, I chose to just write a run-on sentence in a note for another post.

Speak to me

